In the Kitchen: Potato Chip Cookies

Potato chip cookies - these are amazing.

Yesterday two of my favorite ladies came over for a holiday baking session. We gossiped, we laughed and we baked alotta cookies.

My lovely ladies & I = guaranteed shenanigans.

The original lineup included bacon chocolate chip cookies and beer marshmallows, but a slight change in plans had us whipping up a batch of potato chip cookies instead of the marshmallows.

Did you know that potato chip cookies existed? I most certainly did not. And it was probably for the better. Potato chips and I go together like Lindsay Lohan and drugs. It’s like that. As I write this it’s 10am and I’ve already eaten three. It’s pure insanity.

Not to shadow the bacon chocolate chip cookies, but these babies blew my mind. With only 5 ingredients they were ridiculously easy (the hardest part was bundling up the kids and walking down the block to the corner store for a bag of potato chips). They’re a shortbread type of cookie kind of like pecan sandies, minus the nuts since our corner store isn’t posh enough to stock pecans. Make them, love them, and feel free to curse at me for ruining your diet.

potato chip cookies

Potato Chip Cookies (adapted from THIS recipe)

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 5.5 ounce bag of ridged potato chips, crushed
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. 

2. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Stir in potato chips. Add vanilla, mix well. Stir in flour just until dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl and forms a ball. 

3. Shape into 1 inch balls, place 2 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet. Flatten with a fork. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until lightly browned around the edges. Let cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Makes about 40 cookies.

Tips and Tricks:

*Bake these in the upper half of the oven to ensure that the bottoms don’t overbrown/burn. Don’t let them overcook, they will still be pale-ish in the middle and continue to cook as they cool on the baking sheet.

*I line my baking sheets with foil to make cleanup easier. You can also use parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.

*We kind of just squirted the vanilla into the bowl, so we probably added more than 2 teaspoons of extract (I wrote 2 to be on the safe side). Feel free to adjust the amount to your liking.

*If you want to add nuts, the original recipe called for 1/2 cup ground pecans.

*The recipe says to use ridged potato chips, but I’m sure you could get away with regular potato chips instead. However, I would strongly advise against using a different flavor potato chip, like say, sour cream and onion. That sounds a little gross (but if you’re gutsy enough to try it and it works come back and let me know!).

*Try your hardest not to eat them all right out of the oven. If you lack the self control, throw a few in a ziplock bag and save them for a later date. Cookies are notoriously wonderful for making ahead and freezing.

*I bet potato chip cookies would be fan-freaking-tastic half dipped in chocolate. Just saying.

*Please do not try to healthify this recipe. It’s a POTATO CHIP COOKIE. It’s not meant to be healthy. I know the thought may have breezed through your mind, and I love you anyways.

I know you’re wondering, so I’ll post the bacon chocolate chip cookie recipe another time. But for now, I promised my lovely lady friends that I’d post a shot of my hairdo. They were curiously obsessed with it.

Do you have a guilty pleasure cookie? Let us know in the comments section below!

Did you like this article? You can get all the latest posts at Gingerly Homemaking in your email inbox by clicking the link below and entering your email address. Your address will only be used for mailing you new posts via Feedburner, and each one will include a link so you can unsubscribe at any time.  Subscribe to Ginger(ly) Homemaking by Email

2 responses to “In the Kitchen: Potato Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Homemade Holidays DIY Gift Guide: Sweet and Savory Food Gifts | Ginger(ly) Homemaking

  2. Pingback: The Complete Homemade Holidays DIY Gift Guide Roundup | Ginger(ly) Homemaking

Leave a Reply

