Nerdy 30.

Yesterday I turned 30.

(Yes, I was born on Valentine’s Day.)

Oh, hello there.

I’m just about the lamest 30 year old ever, and I warned my husband that if I got any kind of party action he’d likely get punched in the stomach. I took comfort in knowing it would be a relaxing, comfortable day. We spent the day running errands with the kids and hitting up the library. There’s nothing like treating myself to a few good borrowed books on my big day.

Embracing my inner nerd with a few good X-Men comics.

Then I hunkered down cozily on the trusty papasan and finally finished my current book.

OMG. Total book crush.

My wonderful husband made an early dinner for the kids, engaged in birthday song shenanigans and made me a lovely salmon and asparagus dinner. To truly appreciate the dinner, you need to be filled in on a little secret. My husband totally, completely, 110% abhors fish and on a normal day will not touch it with a ten foot pole. But by golly, he cooks up the most delicious salmon I’ve ever eaten. Since it’s quite the rare beast around these parts, I take it whenever I can get it.

Sorry, no picture of dinner. I was too busy om nom nomming it up. Instead, here's a snapshot of my favorite wine which accompanied my favorite dinner.

To finish off my low-key day, I hunkered down with some chocolate cake and Breaking Dawn for a guilty pleasure ending to my happy birthday. No shame.

Chocolate mousse cake from Angela Mia in Norwalk. Holy wow, their cakes are good.

I'm totally Team Edward. Woot.

Happy Valentine’s Day to you. Happy birthday to me.

9 responses to “Nerdy 30.

  1. New books to read, a caring family and chocolate cake. Sounds like the perfect birthday to me! :-)

  2. Happy 30…nice haul and lovely pictures…I hit the 40s in 2010…i wish my 30s had been better,….hope yours are amazing

  3. her hungry heart

    You are adorable! Happy birthday!

  4. Oh hey Happy (late) Birthday! 30… is weird. I’m just sayin.

    You wear it well! Glad your day was relaxing & awesome.

  5. You’re too cute!! I’m glad you enjoyed your day :)

  6. On another note… I gave your blog a mention on mine, along with another award. Honestly, there are only a handful that I follow regularly, and this one is at the top of the list.
    http://sugardishme.com/2012/02/16/versatile-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

