Monday Menu Plan: 3/12-3/18

As I type this it’s Sunday night, and I’ve just finished throwing together my overnight baked oatmeal recipe for breakfast Monday morning. My recipe calls for applesauce, but I had a few zucchinis that were looking a little questionable and I wanted to use them before they went to waste. I peeled and grated them and threw them in the mix. Zucchini is so mild that it should work out well as an applesauce substitute. I always have faith, but even more importantly, I always have a backup plan. Too often have my tinkering tendencies borderlined the Evel Knievel of culinary daredevilry, so just in case our oatmeal tomorrow tastes more like dead vegetables than warm and hearty comfort food we’ll have eggs and toast waiting on the sidelines for a quick fix.

Do you play around with and adjust recipes, or do you stick to the original recipe when making a meal? Share with us in the comments section below!

Be a whisk... er, RISK taker in the kitchen! (Yes, I drew that. No, I did not have formal art training. Yes, I'm good at bad puns.)

Breakfasts: baked oatmeal, quick oats, eggs & toast, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt

Lunches: peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, pasta, leftovers, fresh fruit and veggies

Snacks: fresh fruit and veggies, popcorn, yogurt, jello, graham crackers with peanut butter, spinach & fruit smoothies

Dinner:

Monday
  • pasta primavera
  • garlic bread
Tuesday
Wednesday
  • veggie frittata
  • toast
Thursday
  • cauliflower and bacon pasta
  • escarole gratin
Friday
Saturday
  • turkey meatball subs
  • salad
Sunday
  • fresh veggie wraps
  • chips
What’s on your menu plan this week? Share in the comments section below! If you blog your own menu plan, leave a link so we can check it out. And if you want information on how to plan a weekly menu, click HERE.
6 responses to “Monday Menu Plan: 3/12-3/18

  1. We’re having:

    Monday
    Chili Maple Chicken
    Spinach Salad
    Baked Potatoes

    Tuesday
    Korean Barbeque
    Rice
    Sauteed Greens
    Kimchi

    Wednesday
    Salmon with Bok Choy
    Quinoa

    Thursday
    ‘Bourbon’ Chicken
    Mashed Potatoes
    Sauteed Kale

    Friday
    Pan-Fried Hamburgers
    Baked Beans

  2. I never leave well enough alone. I am the queen of substitution, mostly out of necessity because I HAVE to use up what I have before i go buy more (this is what happens when you grow up teetotally broke). Zucchini has happily replaced apples, applesauce, carrots, cucumbers and all sorts of other randomness in this house. Gotta say it’s been a pretty doggone useful skill. Love the menu this week!

  3. Your drawing is amazing!

  4. Why thank you! I had to channel my 7th grade art skillz for that one, and pray that the kids didn’t leave the caps off the markers (they totally did).

Leave a Reply

