Monday Menu Plan: 6/25-7/1

Confession: I’m really bad at grilling.

Honestly, I’ve always avoided using the grill, designating those summer evenings of tasty charred meals to nights when my husband is available to man the station. I’m not sure why, but the grill has always intimidated me. Maybe it’s because I’ve pretty much burned  to oblivion everything I’ve ever grilled.

Regardless of my hang-ups, this week I’m instituting a change in my mentality. You’ll notice a grill-heavy menu, which I will be cooking ALL. BY. MYSELF. (Note to my husband, since I know you’re reading this Mike: If I ask you to take over, say NO).

I need to get over this redonkulous fear of the grill, and reclaim the mighty art of grilling from all those manly-men I’ve relied on all these years to produce my perfectly fire-singed morsels of delight. I mean seriously, if I can kick ass in the kitchen, I can certainly do alright cooking outdoors.

And just in case, I’ll have the eight closest chinese takeout restaurants on speed dial. No joke.

Do you cook on the grill? If you do, what’s your favorite grilled meal to make? Share with us in the comments section below!

On a side note, we’ll be going into the city on Tuesday because my husband is attending the New York Stock Exchange closing bell ceremony. He’ll be there to celebrate Foot Locker Inc’s 100th year of trading on the NYSE. How awesome/exciting/cool/exciting is that?!? What’s even more exciting is the prospect of finagling a tasty meal from the Halal cart while we’re there. Omnomnom.

Okay, so this isn’t a food-related picture. But it *is* a picture (that I sort of love) of my husband Mike and I. And I’m putting it up because I can. Also, because we celebrated our 6 year wedding anniversary last Wednesday. Yay for that!

Breakfasts: quick oats, eggs & toast, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, homemade granola

Lunches: peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (I wonder if I can grill pb&j???), pasta with olive oil & parmesan, leftovers, raw fruits and veggies

Snacks: raw fruits and veggies, pretzels, yogurt, applesauce, popcorn

Dinner:

Monday
  • tomato pesto pizza (I was planning to grill this but it hella rained today!)
  • spinach side salad
Tuesday
  • dinner in NYC
Wednesday
  • hot dogs
  • grilled corn on the cob
  • grilled summer squash & zucchini
Thursday
  • grilled eggplant burgers
  • spinach side salad
Friday
  • poached eggs on toast
  • spinach side salad
Saturday
  • grilled chicken thighs
  • grilled sweet potato rounds
  • raw veggies
Sunday 
  • grilled ratatouille over whole wheat pasta
  • grilled corn on the cob
What’s on your menu plan this week? Share in the comments section below! If you blog your own menu plan, leave a link so we can check it out. And if you want information on how to plan a weekly menu, click HERE.
4 responses to “Monday Menu Plan: 6/25-7/1

  1. Happy anniversary!!! I, too, avoid the grill. I think I can do it. But then I dunno… maybe it’s harder than it seems? I’m a grilled chicken girl; I have 40 bazillion marinades that I loooooove to mix up. I’ve got veggie burgers on my menu for Thursday; the recipe seems simple enough, but it’s quite different from my usual, so we will see how this goes!

    • Love grilled veggie burgers, but the ones we make from scratch always seem to fall apart on the grill. What recipe are you using? I’m on a constant search for the elusive well-bound veggie burger. In the meantime, I’ve taken the lazy road and resorted to grilled eggplant slices on a bun instead.

  2. Grilling is awesome…food tastes so much better grilled as well! I guess a quick tip is put the corn in way before you start the other items, it takes a while, I would say at least 25 minutes total over med heat (rotate). I like to wrap the corn in foil and use oil (instead of butter), salt and pepper and maybe some paprika.

    Grilling vegetables is easy but hard to get right sometimes, I recommend using a basket if you plan to chop them into smaller pieces. Chicken is the easiest to over grill, make sure you marinade it for at least an hour and then when you get to grilling try and cut the chicken breast semi thin (I usually cut a breast in half the long way) because its easier to cook and provides better portions. 3-4 minutes per side on high heat is pretty much all you will need!

    Have fun!

    • Have you ever grilled corn in the husk? I really want to try that, but I feel like the husks would go up in flames or something.

      Thanks for the basket tip! We do grilled ratatouille and have to chop all the veggies after we’ve cooked them, which can be annoying. That would totally fix my problem with that!

Leave a Reply

