Monday Menu Plan: 12/5-12/11

Each week, I sit down with our local grocery circulars and plan out a week’s worth of meals. I like to focus on what produce and meat is on sale and then find recipes that revolve around those items. This helps me to stay within our budget (for the most part!) and ensure that my family is eating a variety of healthy foods. To find recipes, I utilize the internet for websites like allrecipes.com, food.com and supercook.com (this one is cool, you plug in what ingredients you have at home and it finds compatible recipes), as well as my many favorite food blogs. But at the end of the day, my preferred recipe source is my trusty old cookbook collection. The Joy of Cooking and The Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book are my two favorites, cookbooks that I grew up watching my mom use as she whipped up dishes that we loved. I have the older editions of these popular cookbooks, which I much prefer to the revised editions with flashy ingredient lists and complicated techniques. My books have simple ingredients that make up the foundations of some of our favorite meals. Call me old school, but there’s little that makes me happier than sitting down with a cup of tea and flipping through the worn pages of my cookbooks in search of a good recipe.

Do you have a favorite cookbook? Let us know in the comments section below!

cookbook love.

Breakfasts: baked oatmeal, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, scrambled eggs, pancakes

Lunches: peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, fresh fruit and veggies, leftovers

Snacks: fresh fruit and veggies, popcorn, veggie straws, brownies, gingerbread, baked apple chips

Dinner:

Monday
  • chicken and dumpling soup
  • homemade dinner rolls
Tuesday
Wednesday
  • white bean sliders on dinner rolls
  • sweet potato fries
Thursday
  • lentil loaf muffins
  • spinach salad
Friday
  • baked ziti
  • green beans
Saturday
  • veggie scramble
  • spinach salad
  • toast
Sunday
  • pot roast
  • roasted cauliflower
  • green beans
  • homemade dinner rolls
What’s on your menu plan this week? Share in the comments below!  And if you want  information on how to plan a weekly menu, click HERE.
Did you like this article? You can get all the latest posts at Gingerly Homemaking in your email inbox by clicking the link below and entering your email address. Your address will only be used for mailing you new posts via Feedburner, and each one will include a link so you can unsubscribe at any time.
Subscribe to Ginger(ly) Homemaking by Email
Leave a Reply

