A Few Thoughts on Exercise, and a 30 Day Shred Update

Me, post workout.

Yesterday I took the plunge and started exercising. If you read my previous post about goals for the new year, you’ll know that one of my goals is to complete the 30 Day Shred.

I’ve decided to document my progress here, partially to hold myself accountable, partially to give anyone who’s curious some insight into what the 30 Day Shred entails, but mostly to have a place where I can complain about how much of a weenie I am when it comes to exercise.

Thankfully my wonderful husband Mike was schmucky enough to agree to do the Shred with me, so I have a workout buddy (on the mornings when he’s not working) to keep me motivated. And after two days of subjecting myself to the worst 20 minutes of my life, I am uber grateful to have him for motivation.

The 30 Day Shred works like this: Jillian Michaels puts you through a 20 minute series of workouts based on her 3-2-1 Interval method: 3 minutes strength, 2 minutes cardio, 1 minute abs. You progress through 3 levels of intensity over the course of 30 days, and you are transformed into a lean, mean muscle machine by the end of the session. She claims that you can “lose 20 pounds in 30 days”, but I won’t hold my expectations high on that one.

Ultimately I’m just looking to get in better shape and hopefully get rid of that baby belly pooch that just won’t go away. I love the motivation that exercising gives me to make better food choices, as well as the energy boost that I eventually gain from a regular exercise routine. But after two days of serious thigh pains and burning abs & booty muscles, I’m remembering how much I hate the actual act of exercising.

I know, I know. You can give me the whole “No pain no gain” lecture, but I just don’t know how to juggle the aftermath of a workout with the daily demands of motherhood. I want to collapse on the floor in a puddle of goo, but my kids won’t let me. They’re all like “Oh hey, Mommy is in the 3rd worst pain of her life, lets make it impossible for her to sit down and recuperate for more than 30 seconds!”. It’s like that. Enough of me whining. Let’s get down to the facts:

Day 1: Frankly, my experience with day 1 was a little misleading. I panted and sweated my way through the workout, but I felt good. My least favorite part was the lunges & squats which gave me major jello legs afterwards (remember the episode of How I Met Your Mother when Barney runs the NY Marathon, and then he can’t get off the subway because his legs don’t work? I was a not-quite-as-awesome female version of that). My husband complained the most about the arm moves with weights (those didn’t bother me at all though, and THIS is probably why). After the workout ended I couldn’t stop thinking that it really wasn’t as painful as people had claimed. In hindsight, the most painful part of the first day was hearing the sound of Jillian Michaels’ voice for twenty minutes straight. Overall I felt a little bit awesome and totally accomplished, and I went to bed with a certifiable Can-Do attitude.

Day 2: I woke up this morning with a serious case of the ohmygoshIwanttodie’s. My legs were on fire and my can-do’s turned into will-nots overnight. Breakfast this morning consisted of two advils with a big ole glass of whine. I lamented over the fact that I hated Jillian Michaels, and that I married a crazy man who actually wanted to do the workout again. We got started and I couldn’t make it through a second set of jumping jacks without my lungs collapsing. I did the modified push ups (on my knees) and wanted to cry and/or vomit. The lunges and squats actually didn’t hurt as much as I thought they would. But it’s been 5 hours since I worked out and now bending my legs to sit or stand makes me wince. My thighs hurt. Hopefully it’s the kind of hurt that indicates that good changes are happening, and not the kind that indicates that my legs will have to be amputated in the near future. I’ll keep you updated on that.

Despite my negative tone, I’m getting myself pumped to continue for the next 28 days. After all, it’s ultimately about accomplishing a goal, feeling good, and getting fit & healthy. Those are all things I can get on board with no matter how much pain I have to endure.

If you exercise, what are your secrets for staying motivated? Share with us in the comments section below!

7 responses to “A Few Thoughts on Exercise, and a 30 Day Shred Update

  1. I did Jillian for 30 days and didn’t see much results. I suppose I should’ve laid off the Doritos then too.
    Good luck! I want to know how it goes.

  2. Good luck on your journey; those first steps are always the hardest but once you get going, anything is possible. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  3. I’ve heard a lot about both this program and Insanity and am very curious. Keep on! You’re inspiring!

  4. Your pain and nausea makes me want to try it… Is that weird? Can we do it on Friday?? =)
    To stay motivated, It can be tough, you just have to have your “eye on the prize” – remember what the end goal is and honestly, that and just doing 2 or 3 days for me helps me to get into a routine of sorts…

    Carlie – I have a friend who did Insanity, she posted about it on FB daily and she wanted to die, daily wanted to vomit, but she got some results, she was always thin, but she got toned… but it didn’t last after she stopped… you just can’t stop working out once you’ve started. You don’t have to keep with the same thing, just as long as you’re working out… anyway, after you turn 30, you lose 8 pounds of muscle every 10 years so deff don’t stop working out unless you want to be an 80 yr old who shuffles her feet…

  5. Pingback: 30 Day Shred Update: Day 3 and 4 | Ginger(ly) Homemaking

  6. Pingback: Workout Snacks and 30 Day Shred Update: Days 5,6 and 7 | Ginger(ly) Homemaking

  7. Break days aren’t my friends either. I think they steal my motivation and make me want cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

