Workout Snacks and 30 Day Shred Update: Days 5,6 and 7

So let’s talk food and exercise. I don’t mean calorie counting and all that jazz. I’m talking pre/post-exercise snacks. For those of you who exercise, what do you munch on before you work out that gives you enough energy to power through, but doesn’t leave your stomach in knots? How far in advance of working out do you eat so that you aren’t doubling over with cramps or indigestion? And what’s your favorite snack afterwards that curbs the desire to consume everything edible within a ten-mile radius? I’ve been chowing down on things like hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and bananas, but sometimes they just don’t hit the spot. A little bit of googling has planted the idea of protein shakes and energy bars in my brain, but those are a little on the expensive side (although I wonder if there are good homemade alternatives?). So now I’m on the hunt for satisfying and frugal workout friendly snack ideas. If you have any ideas, please share them in the comments section below!

30 Day Shred Update:

Day 5: I made the terrible mistake of gorging on a ginormous bowl of oatmeal right before the workout. In my defense, my husband was sleeping late after working late and I didn’t think he’d be motivated to hop out of bed & exercise immediately. But I was wrong. He woke up and dragged me into the routine about 20 minutes after I took my final bite of breakfast, and I spent the next 20 minutes worrying I was going to throw up. The upside: I was so busy being nauseous that I didn’t notice how sore my thighs were. The other upside: I learned to never again eat right before exercising.

Day 6: My husband wasn’t home in the morning so it was my first time working out by myself. It takes a lot of determination for me to get up and willingly exercise on my own. I decided I like having a workout partner better than going solo, as the outside influence pushes me to do my best. Nonetheless, I trudged through the entire 20 minutes and only stopped to catch my breath a handful of times. I realize that the only way I’m going to get results is by pushing myself beyond my comfort zone and giving 110% effort.

Day 7: Hallelujah! Finally, I’m no longer dying after the squats and lunges. I can  push through the sets without breaking down or even wincing. My legs aren’t the least bit sore before, during or afterwards. I didn’t think she could do it, but Jillian Michaels is actually turning me into an exercising machine (let’s just not talk about the jump ropes and push ups, mmmkay?). I’m guessing though that the 30 Day Shred doesn’t let you forget how strenuous a good workout should be, since in 3 more days I move on to Level 2. And from what I hear, Level 2 is a big scary monster compared to the fluffy bunny that is the Level 1 workout.

**Today I’m taking a day off from the Shred, because my body needs to recuperate for a quick minute (also, I’m currently carrying a Subway-for-lunch foodbaby in my belly, and I don’t think it’s wise to exercise like that while expecting). Tomorrow morning it’s back to the daily grind with day 8 of the 30 Day Shred.

If you missed the previous updates, you can click on the links below to check them out:

A Few Thoughts on Exercise, and a 30 Day Shred Update (Days 1 & 2)

30 Day Shred Update: Day 3 and 4

6 responses to “Workout Snacks and 30 Day Shred Update: Days 5,6 and 7

  1. About 45 min. to an hour before I run or workout I like to have a piece of whole wheat bread with a thin spread of peanut butter and a little honey, or a couple of delicious cutie clementines, a flavored rice cake, string cheese or a babybel cheese, carrot sticks, nothing too heavy but some good carbs to keep you going! I’ve done the 30 day shred a few times and it’s tough stuff but you will love it eventually! Keep it up!!

  2. I love the 30 day shred. I have committed to doing it 30 days in a row, as I run somedays but it’s such a great work out. Level two is a kicker but a nice change from level 1. Rest days are important. Good luck!

    • Thanks! I’m actually kind of excited for Level 2, if only for some new dialogue 😉 And it’s good to hear that it’s okay to rest. From day one my plan was to go straight through without a break day, but I’m quickly learning as a workout newbie that an important part of exercising is listening to my body! And mad props to you for doing the Shred AND running, that’s my pipe dream!

  3. Oh and I like having yogurt and blueberries as a post run snack.

  4. I know before my husband and I work out I used to eat some almonds, only a small amt (maybe 16 or so)… after work out I generally did some cheese, he did a banana (I hate bananas unless they are in a shake). At home smoothies are easy to make and not too expensive, I just hate cleaning up afterwards. Here is what I do for my smoothies: 1/2 banana, some other fresh fruit (usually berry), some yogurt, 1/2 avacado (I swear it is good) and some juice/water for consistency. that’s it!!

Leave a Reply

