In the Kitchen: Creamy Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burritos

Creamy Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burritos

Fact: I love anything that can be wrapped in a tortilla and eaten. If you scooped a pile of mud into a tortilla and handed it to me, I’d probably consider eating it (before coming to my senses and wondering why on earth you’d hand me a mud filled tortilla).

One of my favorite tortilla hugged dishes is the burrito. With two small children, I tend to resort to the basic (aka plain) burrito filled with yellow rice, black beans and shredded cheddar. Every once in awhile though I get gutsy and decide to gamble my luck at the dinner table with “new and exciting” (aka not plain) fillings. Tonight was one of those nights.

I came across a blog post a few months ago that mentioned sweet potatoes in burritos. I wish I’d bookmarked it because the sweet and savory flavor combination had me salivating on my computer keyboard. Alas, I did not and to this day I couldn’t tell you what the original recipe to inspire me was. A quick Google search though proved that it wasn’t a lone concept, apparently I’m the last person to put sweet potatoes in my burritos.

I found many recipes that, while all tasty sounding, just weren’t hitting the spot for me so I decided to improvise. Not a huge fan of salsa, which appeared in many of the recipes I found, so I left it out. I was in the mood for something creamy so I decided to toss in some cream cheese. My kids won’t touch chiles with a ten foot pole so I avoided those. What I ended up with was a super yummy budget-friendly meatless dish that is going into my recipe box for all eternity. Yes, I have a recipe box. It is my belief that everyone should have a recipe box. End of story.

*By the way, I just realized I haven’t posted a new recipe since December. What the hickity heck?!?

Creamy beans, rice and sweet potatoes: a match made in heaven.

Creamy Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burritos
Serves 4

  • 4 cups cubed sweet potato (1/2 inch cubes, approx. 2 large potatoes)
  • 1.5 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped yellow onion
  • 1-15 ounce can black beans
  • 1.5 cups cooked brown rice
  • 6 ounces cream cheese, cubed
  • 3 tablespoons taco seasoning
  • 2-3 tablespoons water
  • shredded lettuce or baby spinach
  • shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
  • 4 large flour tortillas (“burrito style”)

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Toss cubed sweet potatoes in 1 tablespoon olive oil and spread in a single layer in a glass baking dish or cookie sheet. Roast potatoes for 35-45 minutes or until tender, flipping once halfway through roasting time.

2. In a skillet over medium heat, saute chopped onion in remaining 1/2 tablespoon of oil for about 3 minutes, or until translucent. Add taco seasoning, cream cheese and water and stir constantly until cream cheese is melted.

3. Add beans and rice to skillet and stir to incorporate into cream cheese mixture. Heat through, stirring constantly.

4. Divide mixture into 4 servings and spoon one serving of mixture into the center of a tortilla. Add cheddar cheese if desired, and top with lettuce or spinach. Roll up tortilla and serve immediately.

Tips and Tricks:

* If you have dried beans instead of canned, you will need 2 cups of cooked beans for this recipe.

* I prefer brown rice, but you can use whatever kind of cooked rice you like. To make preparation easier you can cook the rice ahead of time. I batch cook my rice to use throughout the week, as cooked rice tends to store well in the fridge for up to a week.

* If you’re waist-watching, you can use reduced fat (or neufchatel cheese) without compromising the taste of the dish. You can also cut back the cream cheese to 4 ounces and add a few extra tablespoons of water until the mixture is creamy.

* If you don’t have taco seasoning, it’s really easy to make. I use THIS recipe from allrecipes.com and omit the crushed red pepper flakes and oregano, and add a pinch of cayenne. If you’re lucky enough to have a warehouse club membership like BJ’s or Costco, you can find a ginormous container of taco seasoning for dirt cheap.

* The great thing about this recipe is that it’s not set in stone and can be adapted to your personal taste. Add corn or peppers to the rice & bean mixture, toss salsa into the cream cheese (or use as a topping), substitute sour cream for some (or all?) of the cream cheese, throw in a handful of cilantro, top it with a dollop of guacamole. Don’t be afraid to experiment and make it your own!

What’s your favorite burrito filling? Share with us in the comments section below!

4 responses to “In the Kitchen: Creamy Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burritos

  1. I always used to make a Moosewood sweet potato & black bean burrito–but now that you mention it, cream cheese would be a great addition!

  2. This looks almost too good to be true! I tried a sweet potato burrito at a restaurant once and I swear is changed the way I looked at meet-free dishes forever. Until that moment I didn’t believe that a burrito could actually taste better without meat in it. And now I can make my very own!!! Thanks so much!

  3. Yum!
    And I love that you said what the hickety heck, heehee! Around here we say what the cuss. Now I’m thinking of ways to embellish that. Love your blog!

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog! This look nummy- I made something similar one time, but used pumpkin instead of the sweet potato and it was in enchilada form. Good job getting your kiddos to eat spinach! I’m constantly trying to get my husband to eat green stuff 😉

Leave a Reply

