Morning Exercise and a 30 Day Shred Update: Day 20, 21, 22 & 23

I’ve never considered myself a morning person. I need copious amounts of caffeine to jumpstart my battery. I’m generally non-productive until about 11am. If you try to have a conversation with me, all you will receive in return are caveman-era grunts and grumbles.

When my husband and I began the 30 Day Shred we were planning our workout for around 11am, when the daily motivation to function was just beginning to trickle through our veins. But that was in a post-holiday season world when daily schedules have long run askew. It’s now mid February and the regular demands of our everyday life have caused me to reevaluate my daily agenda. Unfortunately for me, this includes becoming a morning person.

I’ve devised a schedule wherein I will be waking up by 7am (?!?) each day and eating breakfast early so I can squeeze in a workout and shower before the tender hour of 9am. I know, this doesn’t sound crazy to those of you who wake up at the ungodly hour of 6am… 5am… 4am to run off to the gym before work. However, I am a stay at home mom who has, up until now, gratuitously taken advantage of my rare variety of young child: the late sleepers.

We’re usually up at 8:30 at the earliest, eating breakfast sometime between 9 and 10, and never out the door a tick before noon on any given day. Working out at 11am has pushed back our entire day, which was already making me feel like a lazy fool. Now I’m not even in the shower until noon! Wuuuuuuut. Not to mention that being awake for so long in between gives me plenty of time to build up a sense of anticipation and dread for the daily discomfort that huffing through the Shred causes. So after serious consideration, I’m handing in my lazy pass so that I might be able to cross “exercise” off my daily to-do list early on.

What time of the day do you prefer to exercise and why? Share with us in the comments section below!

Day 20: You can call me Weezy. What’s that you say? That name has already been taken and I’m not gangsta enough anyways? Oops, my bad. What I meant to say was “You can call me Wheezy“. As in, I can’t stop wheezing. The viral fog in our apartment is lifting and our various ailments are coming to an end. But I’ve inherited this dry throat from my formerly sick children that has become the bane of my existence. As soon as I start the Shred, I’m huffing and puffing and struggling to breathe like a normal human being. It is SO uncomfortable that I have to pause frequently to ensure that I don’t die. Well, maybe I won’t die per se, but you get my point. My throat hurts so much from breathing heavily through the workout that it’s even distracting me from the burning sensation in my muscles. It’s not easy being wheezy. Fo’ sheezy.

Day 21: Technically this was supposed to be my first day of Level 3, but I’m sticking around for a few more days since I got a late start on Level 2. We were extremely lazy in the morning so Mike and I didn’t work out until late afternoon. Worst. Idea. Ever. You know how I stated earlier that I’m not a morning person? Even more than that, I’m not an afternoon exercise person. Let it be known that on the 9th day of February 2012 I officially declared that I will never again work out after 12pm. It was like I used up the last of my daily energy supply to put on my sneakers or something. I totally dragged. This was the longest 25 minute workout I’ve ever done, and all I wanted to do was curl up in a ball and sleep. How some people come home from a full day of work and head straight to the gym in the evening is beyond me. You people are a combination of crazy, crazy and crazy. No offense. Crazy.

Day 22: I had to stop like 9 thousand times during the workout. Apparently my butt was starving, because it kept trying to eat up my underwear. I’m sure this made for a good show for my husband, who works out behind me, and therefore got an eyeful of wedgie picking action for 25 minutes. It made for a difficult workout for me because it’s really hard to stay in form on one leg for military presses with leg extensions when there’s a handful of Hanes creepin’ into no-man’s-land. After we completed the Shred, I went to the bedroom to check out what was going on. A quick glance in our new full length mirror had me praising Jillian Michaels and the wedgie gods. Of course my “won’t ride up, guaranteed” underthings are beginning to relocate. My butt is shrinking. 

Day 23: Today was my last day of Level 2. I feel like I need to write it a breakup letter, where I highlight all the reasons why we weren’t compatible. It would go something like this:

Dear 30 Day Shred Level 2,
It wasn’t you, it was me.
Well, it was sort of you. I mean c’mon. Pendulum lunges, iron crosses, plank twists? You just don’t do that to someone you love. It’s hurtful.
Maybe someday we’ll run into each other again and reunite amicably, but for now I think it’s best that we part ways.
Best of luck to you and your future victims, er, colleagues.
-Corrie

I can’t wait for tomorrow. If the past is an accurate predictor of things to come, it won’t be a pleasant experience. But it’ll be nice to change it up. It’ll also be great motivation to know that I’m in the final stretch.

If you missed the previous updates you can click on the links below to check them out:

A Few Thoughts on Exercise, and a 30 Day Shred Update (Days 1 & 2)

30 Day Shred Update: Day 3 and 4

Workout Snacks and 30 Day Shred Update: Days 5,6 and 7

30 Day Shred Update: Days 8 & 9

30 Day Shred Update: Days 10, 11 & 12

30 Day Shred Update: Days 13 & 14

30 Day Shred Update: Day 15, 16, 17, 18 & 19

7 responses to “Morning Exercise and a 30 Day Shred Update: Day 20, 21, 22 & 23

  1. I like to work out , whenever I get the chance. I do prefer doing it right in the morning, so the rest of the day is open:)

  2. I’m with wartica, I like it in the morning. I can’t have eaten like an hour before, so if I try to at night, I can’t because by the time I’m outa work/school at 7, i’m ready for DINNER! Plus when I work out first thing, I feel SO ACCOMPLISHED! See you tomorrow night?

  3. Right now I usually work out at night around 8pm, once our little one goes down. I sometimes try to fit in a run during my lunch break. It’s hard being a single mom (only for 6 months) – I have fit in my workouts around our daughter’s sleep or I would never get it in.
    Love the letter to level 2. Level 3 is a kicker but you’ll come to enjoy it (at some point).

  4. Day 22 was so funny that I almost fell out of my chair. Jillian is not my friend, so I have plenty of padding back there.

  5. Pingback: Versatile Blog Award « Sugar Dish Me

Leave a Reply

