Monday Menu Plan: 2/20-2/26

Every time we eat chicken, we save the leftovers, bones, skin and roasting juices in containers that I keep in the freezer. I do the same with leftover or end bits of vegetables like onions, carrots and celery. When I’ve filled up two or three containers I dump it all into my slow cooker and add enough water to fill the pot at least 3/4 full. The cooker runs all day on low, and by sundown I’ve got a crock pot full of tasty homemade stock. This cuts down my grocery costs as well as food waste, and leaves us with better chicken stock than I could ever buy in a box. Since the components used to make the stock are all byproducts of food items that we already use (and otherwise end up in the trash), the only thing it costs us to make homemade chicken stock is a little bit of time. I use this frugal stock to make soups, cook rice or quinoa, or even braising veggies. Chicken soup is on the menu plan this week, so I’ll be cooking up a big batch of stock tomorrow.

Menu Planning

Breakfasts: oatmeal, eggs & toast, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, waffles

Lunches: peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, grilled cheese sandwiches, pasta, leftovers, fresh fruit and veggies

Snacks: fresh fruit and veggies, popcorn, yogurt, jello, hard boiled eggs, graham crackers with peanut butter, roasted chickpeas, spinach & fruit smoothies

Dinner:

Monday
  • vegetarian chili
  • cornbread or tortilla chips?
Tuesday
  • vegetable fried rice
  • salad
Wednesday
  • chicken soup
  • homemade rolls
Thursday
Friday
  • baked ziti
  • green beans
Saturday
Sunday
  • dinner at my dad’s
What’s on your menu plan this week? Share in the comments section below! If you blog your own menu plan, leave a link so we can check it out. And if you want information on how to plan a weekly menu, click HERE.
9 responses to “Monday Menu Plan: 2/20-2/26

  1. I love seeing your meal plans – it gives me ideas! And I ought to cook more chicken (whole) from home. Oddly enough, raw whole chicken gives me the heebie jeebies but I gotta get over that 😉

    Our plan this week (at least for dinners) is: cappellini pomodoro, pesto & spinach pizza, chickpea curry, tomato soup and probably breakfast for dinner.

    • I used to be grossed out by whole raw chicken. There was something about pulling out the bag of giblets that made me want to scream/cry/barf/faint. Sometimes I just get the bone-in chicken pieces (thighs are my personal fave) instead of a whole chicken. It’s so much easier to prep when I’m feeling lazy and I still get the bones & skin for stock making, but more importantly it’s less likely to trigger the heebie jeebies 😉

  2. This looks so delicious, I’d like to come eat at your house! Especially the brown rice egg bowl, I never would have thought of that.

    At our house it will be beet and goat cheese salads, spaghetti, tomato pie and a veggie stir fry for the week.

  3. I love that you make homemade stock. I do the same thing. Tonight I will be prepping out everything for Jambalaya for Fat Tuesday, a tradition that I haven’t left behind yet. It will be enough to eat for awhile….

  4. I like planning my menu out too.

  5. Love the homemade stock idea! Chicken broth gets expensive. I know why whole chickens and turkeys creep ME out– it’s because they look like headless featherless versions of themselves. Beef does not look like Bessie, pork does not resemble Wilbur, but when I see a whole bird I think Chicken Little… or Foghorn Leghorn. And then I have visions of Monica (pingback Friends reference ha!) dancing with the raw turkey on her head.

    I can do it. But I won’t ever say I like it.

Leave a Reply

