Monday Menu Plan: 3/19-3/25

(Edit: Sorry for the Monday Menu Plan on Wednesday. I logged on to write a recipe post and my latest menu plan was nowhere to be found! From what I can gather, WordPress ate my homework. No joke.)

Exciting news! We’re moving at the end of April (long story short, I’m not exactly sure where yet but I should know in the next few days). In preparation, I’m going to start whittling down our overstock of pantry items that I don’t feel like packing and dragging to the next apartment. This means that my grocery bill will be MUCH lower for the next few weeks with all the pantry shopping I’ll be doing. And maybe, finally, I can make a dent in the stockpile of canned schtuff I got right before Hurricane Irene graced us with her presence (or lack thereof, we lucked out)! For the most part I’ll only have to make a weekly trip to restock our perishables: milk, eggs & fresh produce.

When you move do you try to pare down your food supply so there’s less to haul, or do you just pack it up and pray stuff won’t thaw before you get it to your new freezer? Share with us in the comments section below!

Breakfasts: baked oatmeal, quick oats, eggs & toast, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt

Lunches: peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, pasta, leftovers, fresh fruit and veggies

Snacks: fresh fruit and veggies, popcorn, yogurt, jello, veggie straws, goldfish crackers, spinach & fruit smoothies

Dinner:

Monday
  • apple cheddar quesadillas
  • salad
Tuesday
  • homemade pizza
  • green beans
Wednesday
  • baked macaroni & cheese with bacon
  • salad
Thursday
Friday
  • egg sandwiches on english muffins
  • salad
Saturday (Date Night!)
  • eating out
Sunday
What’s on your menu plan this week? Share in the comments section below! If you blog your own menu plan, leave a link so we can check it out. And if you want information on how to plan a weekly menu, click HERE.
11 responses to “Monday Menu Plan: 3/19-3/25

  1. Oooh exciting – good luck with the move and I hope you are happy in your new home.

    As for stockpiling, I used to store a HEAP of stuff in my freezer. Then we went away on holiday, the electricity went out for a few days (perils of living in the Caribbean) and everything became a possibly-salmonella-contaminated mush. Now I try to keep things light.

    PS. Love the sound of curried chickpeas

    • Thanks! Yeah, I’m most concerned with the frozen stuff, but luckily we have a tiny kitchen with a tiny freezer so it won’t be that hard to polish it off pre-move.
      The curried chickpeas are ah-mazing (not to toot my own horn or anything, haha). If you ever try the recipe let me know what you think!

  2. Your baked oatmeal sounds amazing! I grew up on normal oatmeal (my favorite was also my mom’s french toast), something I was ever much a fan of until I got to college and it was the only carb I could eat and still make my lightweight weigh-ins for crew. I used to “bake” it at 4am with sliced bananas, dried cranberries, honey, and a sprinkle of cinnamon. You have to put the bananas on top, with the honey over it… it seals in all the moister. I would microwave it until all the milk had been soaked into the oats, then put it in a coffee togo mug, pour steaming hot milk over it and wait till after practice to eat it. Not quite as leisurely, but still bringing a slice of childhood to my new life.
    Now, time to go try your recipe!
    Good luck with the move. (I say use up all the food… it also helps you learn a few new recipes.)

    • Let me know how you like the oatmeal 🙂 Yours sounds equally delicious! I love dried cranberries and I always kick myself for forgetting to toss some in my oatmeal.
      What is it about mothers that make them ultimate french toast makers? I don’t think I’ll ever be able to replicate my mom’s awesome french toast exactly, even with the recipe. It’s maddening!

  3. Must share your apple cheddar quesadillas!! Those sound delish!! Hope you’ve recovered from your injuries!

    • Ohmigosh, they are SO simple you’ll laugh at me forever. It’s literally just thin sliced granny smith apples and copious amounts of sharp cheddar, toss it in a flour tortilla, fold in half and throw that baby on a dry skillet over medium heat until it’s toasty and melted.

      I don’t know what it is about them that’s so darn wonderful, but we’re absolutely addicted to our apple cheddar quesadillas.

  4. I move across country most of the time so I only pack my spices. THe other stuff never makes it so I don’t even try. Obviously things like vinegar and fish sauce have to be given away or tossed. Don’t even want to think of the tragedy of one of those spilling. Last move, I whittled it down but even still my friends were a big help in taking my perishables even the prepackaged leftover meals from my freezer.

    • So funny you mention that. When we moved from Maryland to Connecticut it coincided with a last-minute week long hospital stay for my little guy, so the packing consisted of frantically throwing stuff in boxes the night on moving day and crossing our fingers that it would make it in one piece. Needless to say, by the time I got around to unpacking the pantry goods in our new place, an entire bottle of corn syrup had oozed out and covered everything in the box it was in. And my husband managed to pack a bottle of olive oil with, oh gosh, I can’t remember if it was bed linens or curtains or something like that. But you can imagine what happened with that. Thinking about it makes me shudder!

  5. I really hate moving. New places are always fun, though 🙂 I think it’s not the unpacking that bothers me so much, it’s the packing and cleaning of the place you’re moving FROM. And all those weird things that have no home, but you don’t realize it until you don’t know what box they go in. We told our landlords we wouldn’t budge from here until we bought our own chunk of land to build on… so far so good 🙂 Good luck with the move! And cooking with little people underfoot in the madness!

  6. Hello! I just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy your blog and I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award & the Very Inspiring Blogger award: http://latetedelegumes.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/the-versatile-blogger-award-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    :] Merci,
    Taissa

Leave a Reply

