Monday Menu Plan: 6/11-6/17

Conversation time: I need to talk about dirty dishes.

I’ve been getting along just fine for the past half-dozen years doing the hand washing thaaang. Now that we’re in our new place though, I’ve been reintroduced to the water gulping, electricity sucking monster that is the dishwasher. I had one in the past, but for the life of me I can’t really remember actually using it (although at the time we didn’t have dirty dish mass-producing children yet, so that’s probably why). Being the Frugal McDougal that I am, I’m really struggling with the whole hand washing vs. dishwasher thing.

Now I’ll admit, I haven’t yet googled the heck out of the issue (like I usually do), I figured someone out there in the vast world of interwebs who reads my posts might have some good, relevant information taking up brainspace in their noggin that they’d be willing to share.

So I’m reaching out to you, my wonderful, amazing, beautiful, amazing, smart, funny, amazing readers:
What do you think of hand washing dishes vs. tossing them in the dishwasher?
Is one option greener/cleaner/more economical than the other? What’s your personal dish washing preference?

Menu Planning

Breakfasts: quick oats, eggs & toast, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt

Lunches: peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, grilled cheese sandwiches, pasta with olive oil & parmesan, leftovers, fruits and veggies

Snacks: fruits and veggies, pretzels, yogurt & fruit, applesauce, popcorn

Dinner:

Monday
  • impromptu dinner at a friend’s house (originally rice & veggie soup with salad was on the menu, but our homeschool powwow ran gloriously longer than expected!)
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
  • poached eggs on toast
  • salad
Saturday
Sunday 
  • Father’s Day Cookout (?)
What’s on your menu plan this week? Share in the comments section below! If you blog your own menu plan, leave a link so we can check it out. And if you want information on how to plan a weekly menu, click HERE.
9 responses to “Monday Menu Plan: 6/11-6/17

  1. We used to have a dishwasher and I totally miss it. I think the newer dishwashers are pretty eco-friendly and at least one study says hat dishwashers are better: http://www.treehugger.com/kitchen-design/dishwasher-vs-handwashing-the-winner.html

    I think if you buy the phosphate-free dishwasher packs like the ones from Method, it’s even better.

    Now Anthony does all of the dishes, and I know he misses our machine. BTW – we’re having a birthday party for him in Fairfield at the end of July and I would love to meet you in person! I’m sure he’s be thrilled to see you again too! I’ll email all the details if you want to come 🙂

    • Oh yay! Thank you for the invitation, I’d love to stop by!

      I was talking to a friend recently who mentioned that many states banned phosphates in dishwasher detergents, I wonder if Connecticut is one of them?

      Honestly with kids, there’s a part of me that covets the ease of tossing the dishes in the machine (after I scrape off all the bits with the sponge & soap of course, in which case I could probably go the whole nine yards, ha!). But standing over the sink and going through the repetitive motion of hand washing is kind of relaxing. I’m torn!

  2. Yeah, I think as long as you only run a very full dishwasher and have a relatively new/eco-friendly machine, it’s better than handwashing, ironically. Unless maybe you handwash with cold water, stopping the faucet after you soap each dish up. But that’s a nightmare!!

    • I definitely *only* run it on a full load, but I have a feeling ours is of the ancient variety and possibly not quite as eco-friendly. I tried cold water washing, and quit after my fingers turned blue. I’ve also tried a dish basin for soaking/washing, but that only seems to work when there aren’t ten thousand dirty dishes involved.

  3. I love the simplicity of your meal plan, and the fact that you too have little dinosaurs and various other animals running lose in your house too.

    We use a dish washer every evening and it is FULL! I can’t imagine hand washing all of the dishes we use. I usually hand wash all of the big items.

    • Thanks! Dinosaurs & plastic animals abound, if you ever need any I’ll gladly gift you some of ours 😉

      I hand wash the things I just can’t manage to jam in there, but I wonder if it would be smarter to hand wash things like non-stick pots and pans (that fit, but nonetheless I contemplate – for no valid reason – the efficiency of their being machine washed)?

  4. I had an awesome dish washer at my last house. We updated all the kitchen appliances and our dishwashr used less water than washing by hand. The bestof all, it had a built in disposal which really helped with the cleaning performance. I like mrs meyers products and method products.

  5. I have been handwashing dishes for so long that I don’t think I’d know what to do with a dishwasher!!! I also love Method products. Mrs. Meyers is good, too (hurray Target!). I’d bet the new machines are pretty efficient, but the older machines probably not so much… let us know what you figure out!

Leave a Reply

